русская версия

The Russian Museum

About Exhibitions Collections Visitor info Shop Málaga branch Publications Events


Permanent exhibitions
St Michael's (Engineers) Castle

On the 26th of May 2005 in St Michael's (Engineers) Castle a renovated open sculpture fund was opened. 134 artworks of the end of the 19th century — the beginning of 20th century were presented. The State Russian Museum was the first in the national museum practice to create public stocks in its palaces. At the eve of 100th jubilee in 1998 such a fund at the Rossi Wing was opened where visitors had an opportunity to get acquainted with the keeping custody of sculpture masterpieces of the 18th — the beginning of the 20th century. Now in the connection with the removing of the majority of sculpture collection to St Michael's Castle, the open sculpture fund with the use of more comfortable for viewing showcases was established here again. The exposition is fitted with the informational computer program, which contains all the essential material on sculptures and historical persons fixed in portraits. Such kind of museum collection demonstration allows extending the limits of the main exposition, presenting monographic complex of the most prominent masters. Later on according to the restoration and the coping of the 2-d floor apartments of St Michael's Castle, open fund museum?s areas will be considerably enlarged. Collection of masterpieces of P.P.Trubetskoi (1866 — 1938) and A. S. Golubkina (1864 — 1927), animalistic plastic of Y.A.Lanceray, A. L. Ober, V. A. Vatagin and sculpture of Modern Epoch — M. L. Dillon?s works are most fully presented in the open fund. One of the showcases is devoted to the portrait of the beginning of the 20th century and particularly the oeuvre of S.T.Kotenkov, L. V. Sherwood, B. D. Korolev, V. V. Kusnetsov. Sculpture works by B.M.Kustodiev and D. S. Stelletsky, which are not presented at the "main" exposition, deserve special attention.