русская версия

The Russian Museum

About Exhibitions Collections Visitor info Shop Málaga branch Publications Events

Family Relics and Contributions of the Stroganovs to Russian Churches
Opening of the permanent exposition

16 December - 31 December 2005
Stroganov Palace

The unique works of applied art, icon painting and embroideries from the funds of the Russian Museum are shown in the rooms of the first floor, facing the Nevsky prospect. These works of art are connected with the prominent Russian dynasty of the Stroganovs. The rooms of the Stroganov Palace are chosen intentionally. Before the revolution this palace hosted numerous collections of the Stroganovs including paintings by Western-European and Russian artists, sculpture, icons and family relics. Chamber interiors of the rooms held the best works: small inscribed icons, related to the so called "Stroganov school" of icon painting, embroideries created by wives of the Stroganovs and fine enamels made by Usolsk craftsmen in the Stroganov ethels. The section of family relics of the Stroganoves introduces the wooden cross of the late 16th — early 17th century carved from the grave board of Princes Vasily and Konstantin Yaroslavsky. Nikita Grigorievich donated the cross to the Annunciation Cathedral of Solvychegodsk in 1610. Till the 19th century it was a part of priceless sacrarium. One of the earliest objects at the exposition is a shroud (1592), placed in a house church of the Stroganovs in the Annunciation Cathedral in Solvychegodsk. This ancient work of art has preserved set-in and liturgical inscriptions on edges. The exhibition fully presents embroideries of the 17th century, created in the gold sewing workshop of Anna Ivanovna, wife of Dmitry Stroganov. Excellent veils, shrouds and details of ecclesiastic attire were contributed to numerous churches and monasteries including Solovetsky Monastery. Some inscribed works originate from that monastery. The exposition is accompanied by objects of household of the Stroganoves. Silver dippers and stoups have preserved the names of their owners Maxim, Dmitry and Grigory Stroganov.